top of page


Officer Positions Open for Nomination

In 2023, the following positions are open for nominations to begin serving after the 2023 AEES Annual Meeting. Nominations for the open positions will be accepted through April 20, 2023. You may nominate yourself or a fellow AEES member. Please send nominations to Tiffany Messer, Secretary, at by April 20, 2023. An electronic ballot will be emailed prior to the 2023 AEES Annual Meeting and the new officers will be announced at the Meeting.

Serves one year as vice-president and is a member of the Executive Committee, then the following year this individual serves as president. Duties as assigned. Fills in if the president is unavailable. Term is 1 year as Vice President, followed by 1 year as President, followed by1 year as Past-President


Shall serve on the Executive Committee, and shall conduct the written business of the AEES Executive Committee, including the recording of the Executive Committee meeting minutes, recording of AEES Business Meeting minutes, conducting and recording of annual officers elections, and recording of subcommittee membership and activity. Term is 2 years.

Student Representative

Serves as the student representative on the Executive Committee. Provides input on student activities and represents student interests in Society business and activities. Duties as assigned. Term is 1 year.

2022-2023 Officers

President Stephanie Lansing, University of Maryland

Vice President - Dave Blersch, Auburn University

Secretary - Tiffany Messer, University of Kentucky

Treasurer - Bill Strosnider, University of South Carolina

Graduate Student Representative - Ana Gabriela Itokazu, Auburn University

Past-President - Michael Burchell,
North Carolina State University

Website Manager - Brittany Santore

Past Presidents

2021-2022 Michael Burchell, North Carolina State University

2020-2021 Andrea Ludwig, University of Tennessee

2019-2020 Anand Jayakarn, Washington State University

2018-2019 Trisha Moore, Kansas State University

2017-2018 Brian Bledsoe, University of Georgia

2016-2017 David Tilley, University of Maryland

2015-2016 Dave Austin, CH2MHill

2014-2015 Tess Wynn Thompson, Virginia Tech

2013-2014 Dan Hitchcock, Clemson University

2012-2013 Stewart Diemont, SUNY College of Environ. Science and Forestry

2011-2012 Greg Jennings, North Carolina State University

2010-2011 Jay Martin, Ohio State University

2009-2010 W. Cully Hession, Virginia Tech

2008-2009 Stacy Hutchinson, Kansas State University

2007-2008 Marty Matlock, University of Arkansas

2006-2007 Pat Kangas, University of Maryland

2005-2006 Steve McCutcheon, PE, Senior Environmental Engineer, US-EPA

2004-2005 Alex Horne, University of California, Berkeley

2003-2004 Mark T. Brown, University of Florida

2002-2003 William J. Mitsch, The Ohio State University 

bottom of page